Retrieve by association and database - when to use what ?

I am new to Mendix and I am going through the Rapid developer course. I am in dilemma about deciding when to use what kind of retreive source (association /database) . I absolutely understand the theory definition however could not really put into practice. Any ideas or suggestions? 
asked
5 answers

The ‘rule’ when to use retrieve over association or retrieve from database is very simple: “Always retrieve from database unless you need the dirty state”. You can see the state transition diagram of an object in the picture here. In practice, this ‘rule’ means that you only retrieve over association when you are working with non-persistent objects, or when you expect a user to have changed an object and you want to use the new values.

Performance is no consideration here: retrieving over association shows intent to use the dirty, unvalidated state of an object and should result in a functionally different outcome than retrieve from database.