When switching from a sandbox, the sandbox gets deleted and you get a new full cloud node. By deleting the sandbox you'll loose anything on there.
Since end of 2015 we do have basic backup functionality available for all Sandboxes. If you want to migrate you should make sure to create a backup and download that to your local machine.
After you have received the full cloud node you'll be able to restore the database and filesystem snapshot