Nested DropDowns

I submitted this question earlier but I don’t think I was clear… I am new to mendix and am used to backend programming. I am trying to create nested dropdowns for example a "Shift" dropdown that will contain first shift, second shift, third shift. I also need an "Hours" dropdown that will dynamically change depending on which "Shift" is selected.   I have set up a macro flow to determine when the shift has changed and what it has been changed to I then have a changed object function block and in it I am attempting to write an expression to place an enumeration I have in MyFirstModule into the “Hours” enumeration but I keep getting the “No viable alternative” error.
asked
2 answers

Mendix does not allow you to have enumerations filter each other. When selecting an enumeration from a dropdown, you will be able to select all values in the enumeration. However, Mendix can achieve what you want! To create a dynamic list, you will need to use the ‘Reference Selector.’

• You will need to create two entities:
    • Shift – with the attribute ‘Name’ 
    • Hours – With the attribute ‘Value’ or something similar.
  • Create an association between ‘Shift’ and Task just like you have. 
  • Create a many-to-one association between Hours and Shift. 
  • Create a many-to-one association between Hour and Task also
  • On your Task page, put a reference selector using the association between Shift and Task
  • On your task page, beneath the Shift selection, put a reference selector using the association between Task and Hour
  • How can you populate your app with data then? To do this, you will also need to create an Admin page where you can create new entries in the ‘Shift’ table and to create the ‘Hours’ objects that are associated with each shift.

answered