Java-action

Im not realy sure if the following is possible since i’m not a backend developer… Let’s say I have a Person class (this java file is automatically created when you create the Person entity with it’s attributes) with a few getters and setters: Person: getName{...} getAddress{...} getAge{...} setName{...} setAddress{...} setAge{...} ... In my MxApplication I created a custom Java-action, which has a type parameter “SomeMxObject”, an entity “SomeEntity” and string “SomeString” as input parameters. The return value is the type parameter “SomeMxObject”. What I now want to do is the following: Retrieve a list of objects based on the provided “SomeEntity” and then call a specific method within that SomeEntity-class. After that, I want to do some magic and finaly return a object of SomeEntity. To make it less abstract: @runtime the java-action gets Person as type parameter, Person as entity and getName as string value. Next I want to retrieve All objects of Person in the java-action based on the provided entity. Next I want to call a specific method (getter) within that class based on the provided string “getName”. Next I do some magic and return a Person-object.
asked
3 answers

Hi Jannes, 

You could use the reflection concepts in Java to achieve something like that. But, you must also pass the method name of the class you want to execute for each object.

I have done similar stuff like this for a different case. I will try to give some steps as pointers, but please be informed that I did not tried this yet. With little bit of changes to the code below, it should be working

1. Write a java action that accepts object name and method name to execute. Method name param is only needed if it is different per object
  2. Then you can do the following to get the list of objects
  3. For executing the methods: refer https://www.baeldung.com/java-method-reflection

Class<?> objectClass = Class.forName(this.ClassName); // This returns the class that is needed